5k Royal Flush

A royal flush in my books is 5 consecutive kilometers where each kilometer is faster than the previous. I don’t think I have ever knowingly achieved this. And it is definitely easier to achieve when you are hearing the splits in your ear than if you would just do it on perceived effort or perceived speed.

Well, today I was on an “easy” 5km run and was surprised when I heard my 3 km time as being faster than the previous 2km stretches and wondered if I really was going faster. I hadn’t started particularly slow, in fact my first km was faster than I had run in a couple months. Then I thought I bet I could do the next one even faster. After the 4km mark when I heard that I was indeed still faster, I had to challenge myself to finish this “easy” training run with an even faster last kilometer. I hadn’t run that fast in 6 months or more. But I did already have a good warm up in so I booted on it, risking it a little more than normal on the icy spots. I would normally have slowed a little more on the ice, but there was now a challenge in the works. And challenges are meant to be taken head on.

And I did it!

I hadn’t started out with any particular goal. And I definitely was not planning on speed work. I just needed to stretch my legs. But when you set out a goal, there’s no telling what’ll happen. Either you’re up for it, or it gnaws at you for another whole day.

5:03/km, 4:40, 4:31, 4:28, 4:03/km for an average of 4:33 / km

Royal-Flush-Artwork3

Author: Kevin

Just a trail runner in Calgary and beyond

3 thoughts on “5k Royal Flush”

  1. You’ve given me something new to try. I tried running a negative half in a 10k a year ago. I think I would have done better if I had kept my pace where it was rather than picking it up. About 600 meters in I ran out of steam and slowed. Before I knew it was had lost the pace completely and had to work to get it back. I think this would be an awesome training technique.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

