That Looks Like Fun!

It not only looks like it was fun, it was fun!

WC5H8894_Kevin

When we say cross-country, we mean serious cross-country. None of this groomed, cut grass on level ground. No, we mean mud, ice, and even blood sometimes.

WC5H8783_Kaisa

8 km through thick and thin with 100 other runners with the only prize being a high five from my family if I’m lucky. These races are my hill / speed work through the winter.

No pressure, no schedule, no training regime. Just give’r!

WC5H8718_Kevin

I wiped out twice in this race, and had blood streaming down my legs. Once right in front of the camera. I looked up at the wrong time trying to smile for the camera and twisted my knees, slamming into the mud at the bottom of the hill. But it couldn’t have been that bad since I still finished with a smile.

This race was a month ago, so the mud is long gone. It has been replaced with ice and snow. I’m sure our footprints are set in the icy mud now for the winter.

Calgary Road Runners – Winter Cross Country Race Series. It’s a blast.

More craziness and photos here and here.

General info about the Grand Prix Series here.

Next up: Silver Springs – Dec 12

 

 

Author: Kevin

Just a trail runner in Calgary and beyond

One thought on “That Looks Like Fun!”

Leave a Reply

