Lost in Griffith’s Woods

Trails with NO HILLS!  That doesn’t happen very often around here.

Griffith Woods is a city park in Calgary with lots of trail types but notably no elevation change. It follows the wetlands adjacent to Elbow River so some trails can get wet.

image

The entrance to the park seemed a little ominous to me with signage like this. Especially on the week before Halloween. Good thing it wasn’t getting dark yet.

image

image

I intended to stay off the paved trail and this was possible. And then I determined to stick to single track. That’s where it got a little wild since the single track seemed quite aimless in direction.

image

image

image

image

I got lost here. Well not exactly lost but the trail didn’t go in the direction I wanted. I should have stayed to a more main trail. There was this linear pond that I was trying to get around and there was only a deer trail along the waters edge. Lots of thistles too.

image

image

The route I took was not very direct as I noticed from my Strava map after the run. It ended up being 10k taking just over an hour.

image

Lots of other walkers out on the main trail but I stayed off that.

Overall it was a great run and I will have to head that way again.

Author: Kevin

Just a trail runner in Calgary and beyond

4 thoughts on “Lost in Griffith’s Woods”

Leave a Reply

