Source of da Nile (denial)

I am lucky enough to be traveling for work in Africa. I have gone for a couple runs so far in the city of Jinja, Uganda. It is amazing here to be at such an iconic, historic place.

Yesterday, I picked the right road to run on apparently since there were about 10 other African runners when I was running just after sunrise. I was definitely a spectacle with my white skin that nearly shines in the dark streets that have no lights. But the other runners had friendly waves.

image

image

The rain makes for some very messy and muddy roads. And the red dirty makes a mess of your clothes. I think my shoes are permanently stained red.

image

image

The Nile River is very wide at the start with a dam immediately downstream from where we were. This view was from the hotel where we were staying.

I didn’t see any alligators or hippos but I know they were there. I wouldn’t want to have to outrun a hippo. I hear they are deadly. Alligators too.

wpid-rps20150914_162102.jpg
Backroads near Jinja

I love exploring by running wherever I happen to be traveling. You sure get to see a lot.

Author: Kevin

Just a trail runner in Calgary and beyond

Leave a Reply

