Running Reconnaissance in the Mountains

In the last 2 months I have run most of the sections of the 87k trail race that is coming up next week. It is helping my confidence knowing that I can visualize most of the trail. I think there is only about 25% of the trail that I haven’t done. And the parts that I haven’t done aren’t a big mystery – I think they are similar to other nearby sections.

image
Elbow River
image
Powder Ridge Trail

Just the training for these races helps me become an expert of the local trails. I can now talk with confidence about trail names such as the ones on the Ironlegs route: Sulphur Springs, Elbow Trail, Powderface Ridge, Ford Creek, Pneuma, Moose Packers, Moose Mountain, Ridgeback.

image
Knoll / Ford Creek
image
Sulphur Springs Trail
image
Base of Prairie Mountain
image
Moose Mountain

I don’t know what it would be like if the race was further from home where you can’t do any reconnaissance.

As long as the weather holds, it should be an amazing route. And stunning views. Stay tuned.

Ironlegs.CA in beautiful Kananaskis country in Alberta

Author: Kevin

Just a trail runner in Calgary and beyond

4 thoughts on “Running Reconnaissance in the Mountains”

  1. Hi Kevin,
    I’ve been wanting to drop over to your blog. WOW, an amazing blog. And Kevin, you are such an experienced trail runner. As you probably know, I am a complete “newbie” when it comes to trail running. I may be “poking” my way around here often. 🙂 With this post only, I am trying to figure if you have completed this race in the Kananaskis, or if it is still coming up. Just amazing rugged scenery.
    ~Carl~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

