High 5’d by the City’s Downtrodden

It gave me a boost on my run today when one of the downtrodden of the city’s core stuck out his hand for a five 5. I didn’t deny him an enthusiastic high 5 and felt quite energized from it. The biker behind me also got one. The homeless man seemed quite excited to be spreading his joy around.

In similar news, I regularly run under a bridge near my house where another homeless man lives. When he’s in a good mood he’ll shout after me “Run faster, he went that’a way!”. And then he’ll roar out laughing. I’ll laugh with him and continue my run with a smile.

You never know where that next encouragement might come from. But brace for it. It’ll come, and then you can share it around.

Author: Kevin

Just a trail runner in Calgary and beyond

Leave a Reply

