Dodging the Rain

I’ve been really lucky with the rain this week. Tuesday I only got rained on for the last 200 meters. Wednesday it was down to the last 50m. Thursday was my day off of running and guess what? It was raining when I got up and rained all day. It looks like rain on Friday too and I could probably use another day off running. Hopefully by Saturday it will clear up again for another LONG run.

But last week I got drenched. On my 12k trail run, we got soaked but had a blast. On my weekend hill repeat run it was pretty lonely out there in the rain. Also, we went floating down the river and got hailed on and absolutely drenched. But at least I wasn’t running that time and wasn’t miserable all by myself – I had my family to be miserable with – that was a lot of fun.

When your schedule makes you run almost every day you have to take what comes. Grin and bear it, but have fun in the middle of it. It’s all part of the journey.

“This is the precept by which I have lived: Prepare for the worst; expect the best; and take what comes” – Hannah Arendt

wpid-rps20150621_214431.jpg

Author: Kevin

Just a trail runner in Calgary and beyond

One thought on “Dodging the Rain”

  1. I agree with you Kevin, and I’ve been reasonably successful in adopting your (or Hannah Arendt’s) attitude. However, when it’s a cold day and I’m heading off for a three hour run, I really would rather that I wasn’t drenched in the first km or so, making me uncomfortably frozen for the remainder.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

