Jealous of youthful quickness

My 14 year old daughter has turned into my sometime training partner this Spring. As we gear up for running the half at the Scotiabank Calgary Marathon, her distances and speed is increasing considerably. I am very impressed. Her 2k training runs for the track team are very fast, and her longer runs with me on the weekend are slower but I think it is a good combination for getting her ready for the half. She has raced many 10k’s and one recent 15k, so I think she is more than ready to finish a half in a good time.

One more month to go and then it is go time. Way to go, girl!

image

Big expectations for that amazing T-shirt and medal. The designers this year made the shirt design a little unconventional but I like it.

May 31st will be on our doorstep before we know it.

Author: Kevin

Just a trail runner in Calgary and beyond

1 thought on “Jealous of youthful quickness”

  1. My daughter is now over 30 and we’ve had a big range of experiences together, but running with her is an experience which will remain as special until I die. One of my other memorable moments is watching her finish a school cross-country race when she was around 11 when she really ran hard at the finish line and just beat another girl into 3rd place. Neither of us are in the same class as you and your daughter, but you and I do have in common a wonderful aspect of father-daughter relations. She is currently living in the UK (I live in Sydney, Australia) and I was tremendously pleased that she still feels our running connection to the extent that she SMS’d me her result in the Grunty Fen Half Marathon straight after the race.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

