Shorter and Easier

The Vancouver Marathon is on May 3rd and I am getting quite excited. I just have to get through this week and then the hard work will be done. The actual marathon is supposed to be the easy part. The training is what was tough.

The runs are getting shorter and I seem to have more time in the day. This tapering in the 10 days before a marathon can make me more antsy with more energy. But I am harnessing that energy by starting to coach my kid’s soccer team, and by continuing to bike to work. I don’t want to overdo the training and burn myself out. But I also cannot just stop running since I need to keep up my confidence and keep some speed in the legs.

Happy training!

image

Author: Kevin

Just a trail runner in Calgary and beyond

One thought on “Shorter and Easier”

  1. I don’t know much about running marathons, but it must be hard to strike the right balance between getting in as much training as possible and yet being fresh and injury-free at the start line. Do you follow a specific published guide to marathon training or do you mostly work from your own experience and knowledge of how your own body can cope?

    You must also have quite a logistical task in getting to Vancouver, organizing somewhere to stay, taking food and enough variety of clothes for a range of weather conditions etc compared with if the run was in Calgary and you had all the resources you might need at home. All part of the race excitement experience, I guess!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

